Keep Moving and Other Tips and Truths About Living Well Longer — by Dick Van Dyke

I am a big, big Dick Van Dyke fan, so when I was in Snowbound Books, an independent bookstore in Marquette, Michigan, and saw this on the shelf, I had to get it. Marquette is a fantastic little town, and if you’re ever in the area, considering exploring. It’s right on Lake Superior, and the views are beautiful. Presque Isle is nearby, which is a great place to amble about.

marquette.jpg

So anyway, I bought this book. And I really probably shouldn’t have.

It pains me to say this, because I love Dick Van Dyke, but this book was a chore to get through. I know it was broken up into chapters, but it probably didn’t need to have been – all the chapters seemed to have the same thesis,

The main point of this book: keep moving. If you’ve read the title, congratulations, you’ve read the book. Dick Van Dyke talks about the importance of being active, of playing, and focusing on what matters.

I don’t know what I expected, but I expected something more than this. It wasn’t an enjoyable read; it felt repetitive, and it was kind of boring. And I am the kind of person that almost does not believe in boredom. I have almost never used that word to describe my own life or experiences. But this book was BORING.

If you’re a fan, check it out, see if your opinion is different. It might be. But my love for Dick Van Dyke wasn’t enough to carry me through this book.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

